iCasa regions of Spain

Regions of Spain

Almeria, Andalusia, Spain
Regions of Spain - Click to enlarge

As a country Spain is made up of 17 autonomous regions, each with their own local laws and ways of doing things. These regions are further divided into 50 provinces so it's safe to say what happens in one region and province might not be relevant in another!

At iCasa Spain whilst we operate predominantly within Andalusia and southern Spain, our strong network of property finders and agents nationally mean that wherever you decide you want to move, we can help you find your dream home.

Andalusia — Home of the Pura Raza (PRE)

Pura Raza Andalusia, Spain

Andalusia is one of the largest regions and extends across the south of Spain. Its landscape varies from the deserts of Almeria in the east to the wetlands of Doñana National Park in the west; and from the stunning ski resorts in Granada's Sierra Nevada to the tourist resorts of the Costas. Andalusia, although traditionally an agricultural region, has a strong cultural identity. Many cultural customs that are seen worldwide as Spanish predominantly originate from Andalusia; including flamenco, fiesta and fino! Andalusia is steeped in *Moorish history and architecture and also has many attractive whitewashed villages. Andalusia boasts the highest number of days of sunshine in Spain which is perfect to enjoy local tapas and the Mediterranean cuisine alfresco.

Provinces within Andalusia: Almeria, Cádiz, Cordoba, Granada, Huelva, Jaén, Malaga, Sevilla

Castilla la Mancha — Home of Don Quijote

Pura Raza Andalusia, Spain

Castilla la Mancha lies between Madrid and Andalusia. Castilla la Mancha is the most sparsely populated in Spain with the cosmopolitan city of Albacete being the largest in the region. Castilla la Mancha has two very distinct types of landscape; great plains and mountainous terrain. This area of Spain is internationally known as being the home of Don Quixote and the Spanish windmills, just like those described by Cervantes in his novel. Castilla la Mancha is also known for its vineyards, fields of sunflowers, olive groves and of course the excellent Manchego cheese.

Provinces within Castilla la Mancha: Albacete, Ciudad Real, Cuenca, Guadalajara, Toledo


Pura Raza Andalusia, Spain

Murcia is a single province region and the university city of Murcia is the 7th largest city in Spain; it also boasts over 250km of beautiful beaches and the area is renowned for the wide range of wellness/spa centres as the muds from Mar Menor, the largest lake in Spain and the largest salty lagoon in Europe, are famous for their therapeutic properties. Inland the area is mainly agricultural with orchards, olive groves and vineyards. The wine growing areas of Jumilla, Yecla and Bullas are increasingly gaining in prestige. The area is also a must for any keen golfer with first class golf resorts at La Manga.

Provinces within Murcia: Murcia

Valencia — home of the Paella

Pura Raza Andalusia, Spain

Valencia Region famous for culture, customs and cuisine! This varied and multicultural region has the busiest container port on the Mediterranean,and the capital city is the 3rd largest in Spain after Madrid and Barcelona. A mecca for sun worshippers, its famous resorts include Benidorm and Benacassim but once you are away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist resorts you will find undiscovered beauty spots such as El Maestrat and the stunning mountains around Alcoi.

Provinces within Valencia: Alicante, Castellon, Valencia